What Makes A Hero?

A hero doesn’t always wear a cape. They don’t always wear a mask either. They don’t always fly through the air or have superhuman strength. They don’t always have a fast car or utility belt. A hero doesn’t always look like Superman, Batman or Wonder Woman.

In reality, heroes are everyday people like you and me.

The man who saves a dog after it has fallen through the ice. Hero.

The woman who helps a neighbor. Hero.

The people who rise up against injustice. Heroes.

We all have those people in our lives we look up to. For one reason or another you could say they are our heroes, but they might not see themselves that way. They see themselves as people who believe they are doing the right thing or just doing their job.

The people I consider heroes probably don’t even know I see them as such, but I suppose if they ever read this, then, they will know for certain.

My mom. She is without a doubt a hero in my eyes. I see it more now that I’m older, how much she has always sacrificed for me and how much she continues to sacrifice, even though I’m old enough to be on my own. She’s one of the most selfless people I know, always putting the needs of others before herself.

She isn’t Wonder Woman in the sense of the comic book character, but she is a wonder woman to me. Everyday she cooks dinner, even when she’s not feeling well. She cleans, takes care of the dog, runs errors and so much more. Unlike others, her job is 24/7. She’s always on call.

When I was younger she would pack my lunch for school and put me on the bus in the morning (but that was before she started dropping me off and picking me up everyday). When I was sick she took care of me, bringing me tea with milk and sugar, singing to me, sitting up with me in the middle of the night and reading me Nancy Drew until I fell asleep.

Thinking back, I’m pretty sure I took all of those things for granted.

And I’m sorry.

Since the time I was little she’s supported me in every aspect of my life. Of course she tells me when I’m wrong or when she doesn’t agree with what I’m thinking or doing, but she always supports my decisions.

My mom is the one I talk to the most. I know I could talk to my friends or to my dad or my brother or any other member in my family, but it’s different then talking to my mom.It seems like moms understand everything better then anyone else. She is always there for me when I need her. I know I can count on her. And in the almost 25 years I’ve been on this planet, she’s never let me.

I know a lot of women who freak out or practically have a nervous breakdown when they realize they are becoming their mother. I don’t want to be my mom, but I hope to one day be like her; strong, selfless, and overall amazing.

So while she might not be a superhero in the comic book sense of the word, she’s certainly a hero to me, a wonder woman in her own way.

Now, my dad. He taught me how to ride a bike and picked me up when I fell down. He taught me how to fish. He taught me how to prime and paint and stain and build things. He taught me that he has an undying confidence in me and that I am a stronger woman then I sometimes believe myself to be.

We have our adventures. We have our laughs. We have our disagreements and our fights, but if my dad’s hard on me it’s only because he wants the best for me (and I didn’t see that when I was younger).

My dad and I might not always see eye to eye, but he’s always their for me. He’s a hard worker and it’s because of him that I grew up with most of the things I remember. It’s because of my dad that I have a college education. Yes, that’s right. I’m not ashamed to say that my parents helped me through college. I know if it wasn’t for them, well, there’s not way I could have afforded four years of school.

Like my mom, he might not be a superhero, but he is a hero. He might not be Superman in the conventional comic book way, but he is a super man. At least to me.

Maybe I’ve taken all of these things for granted, and I’m sorry, but I know my parents always tried to give me the best life possible.

And I have always appreciated it, even if I didn’t show it at the time.

Sure there are other people I look up to (for a variety of different reasons), but not one could take the top spots away form my parents.

It’s the every day people in our lives and in the world that are the true heroes. It’s the people who show compassion, who try to make the world a better place, who make small difference one step at a time, who do positive things that go unnoticed or unappreciated who are the real heroes. They might not fly around in fancy costumes, but you can always count on them. They are everyday people, just like you and me.

Leave a Reply

