Cheers to Love

I think I figured it out
We need to be together
Like the shore and the sea
We are not one thing
We’re drawn here together
My ocean and me
~ Jon Foreman – “In My Arms”

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.”
~ Aristotle

Love must be one of the most wonderful feelings in the world.

I came to this conclusion solely based on observation. I’ve watched my grandparents over the years and have old pictures from their wedding day. Every morning they seem to fall in love with each other all over again. I’ve grown up in an affectionate household (and family) and have watched my parents as well. Then I watched as my little brother went off to college and met the same woman he’s still with today. Yes, I have grown up with fine examples of love all around me, yet I’ve never felt that way about anyone. Of course I love my family and my friends and a few choice acquaintances because they’re lovely people, but I’ve never loved anyone enough to even think once that I would want to spend the rest of my life with them. At least not yet.

This past weekend I traveled to New Jersey to watch my cousin marry his longtime girlfriend. I lived too far to see this romance unfold, but I could tell by the way they looked at each other that they loved one another.

I have faith that one day I will find a great love, the same kind of love my grandparents, parents, brother and now my cousin have. I believe that there is someone for everyone.

Until that day, I will keep moving forward with my life. I’m content with how things are and what I have and know that one day I will find my great love. But for now, I still have mountains to climb on my own. I’m alright with that too.

Love must be one of the most wonderful feelings in the world. So cheers to those of you who have found it and to those of you who are still searching…don’t lose hope.

Leave a Reply

