Story Time

I’m a firm believer that everyone has a story to tell. I think, if we’re willing to listen, that people have some of the most interesting stories.

When I used to write for newspapers, I worked with people everyday. In order to write my story, I had to talk to the people who had the story. Some of my favorite articles centered around people. The little boy who was given his dream by Make-A-Wish, the woman who followed her passion for Marine Science, the people who were recovering from a devastating flood, the ceramic artist who opened her own studio and the Veterans who were part of the Honor Flights are just a few of the people who were kind enough to let me into their lives and tell me their story. And this was always my favorite part of the job.

I’ve always been a curious person. I’ve always been interested in people, wanting to hear their stories. Reading is a great was to learn (and trust me I read a lot), but I would rather sit down with a person and talk. There’s something about the way they light-up when someone shows interesting them, when they can share their story, that makes me smile.

This past weekend I went to visit my grandparents. I love them both equally, but I could talk to my grandpa for hours. I could listen to him tell story after story without being board. It’s from him I’ve learned some of the most interesting things about our family. It’s from him that I’ve been given a look into WWII. It’s from him that I’ve learned so many other things. There are times that he reminds me of the Energizer Bunny. He can just keep going and going and going. Usually all it takes is one question to set him off talking. With in the last few visits I’ve grown accustomed to just asking him to tell me a story, any story.

I love hearing what people have to say on various topics – their insight, their story. Try asking someone a question about their life, past or present. Or simply ask how their day went. Who knows what you will learn.

Leave a Reply

