California Adventure: Day 3 – Exploring La Jolla

Even though I was having a wonderful time in Encinitas, I knew there were other places I wanted to check out.

Too many places.

I wanted to do and see almost everything. Simply impossible for a five day California venture. So I decided to ask some friends before I left the East Coast what one must see/do while out there. A majority said La Jolla. Both for the view and the shopping.

So I set aside one day for La Jolla.

And I’m so glad I did. It’s absolutely gorgeous.

I’ll be honest. The first thing to hit isn’t the beauty of the place, but the smell. It smells like fish, or something resembling it. It’s only the seals that enjoy sunning themselves on the rocks by the cove. You get used to it. Eventually. (And don’t let it deter you from visiting. It shouldn’t. I only thought it fair that I put out a warning).

Overlooking La JollaStanding in front of the ocean, looking out at the rolling waves and blue water is peaceful. Magical. And the rhythmic breathing of the sea adds to the whole experience. I think I could’ve stood there forever, or at least for a very long time.

There’s a path that stretches a good distance of the ocean. It’s above the water and rocks, which are heavily populated by seals. By taking a different path that led to the rocks, I was able to stand by the seals as they sunned themselves. They seem to be so desensitized to humans that they simply lay there. Sometimes their eyes were shut, but some were staring, looking with their big, brown eyes. They were adorable and I felt a sense of wonder that these creatures could be sharing the same rock with me. However, a word of caution. They will let you know if you’re to close by barking. This happened to a man and his wife who were down on the rocks with me. The seals may be desensitized, but they are still wild animals, so please respect there space.

Walking around on the rocks felt like being on a completely different world. I could see the ocean stretching for miles. Endless blue. The waves rolled in and exploded on the jagged rocks, tossing white sea foam into the air. It was beautiful.

Above the ocean, rocks and paths was the town. The streets were lined with restaurants and shops. I had to explore the stores and I ended up purchasing some pretty cool finds. As far as food goes, well, I had some of the best Tiramisu at this little restaurant. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the place. Sorry.

La Jolla ChurchAfter a little shopping and some lunch, I simply walked around. Sometimes that’s how little gems of places are found. Unexpectedly. And that’s how I came across a beautiful church and a one of a kind jewelry store.

My only regret on this trip was time. I wish I had more of it.

La Jolla is breath taking. If you’re ever in California and looking for something to do, I suggest a day in La Jolla. It has a little something for everyone, including children. I loved it and I hope you love it too. Also, if you have been there let me know what you thought of it. I’d be interested in hearing about your experience.

If you would like to see more photos from La Jolla you can view them here.

Leave a Reply

