California Adventure: Day 4 (Part 2) – The Switchfoot Bro-Am (Concert)

The sun was hot.

The crowd was many.

The music was loud.

We were all packed in like sardines, but that’s what happens when thousands of people gather on a single beach. And we were all there for the same reason – the Switchfoot Bro-Am.

It was late afternoon when Switchfoot took the stage. (Four bands had gone before them – Brynn Elliott, Colony House, Needtobreathe and Drew Holcomb – but that didn’t drain people’s energy). The crowd erupted with cheers, hands flying up in the air. As the music rang out from the speakers, I could feel it spider through the sand and vibrate through my body. I could even envision each tiny grain bouncing along to the beat.

Maybe it’s just me, but I find that to be one of the best feelings. I love when I can literally feel the music, when the bass thumps through my body and the kick drum feels as though it matches my heartbeat.

Not only that, but the guys are very entertaining.

Switchfoot at the Switchfoot Bro-AmTim does his infamous, yet signature, hair flip while playing the bass.

Chad makes faces like I’ve never seen. (But no one makes faces like a drummer.)

Drew, Dr. Ew, the master of tones, rocks out on his guitar.

Jerome hangs in the back, rarely coming to the front, but produces beautiful melodies on the keys.

And Jon, the bands frontman, is very expressive. Facial expressions, hands, running back and forth across the stage; he does it all. He also turns into a bit of a kleptomaniac – hats, sunglasses, cameras. Of course he always returns the items. (He borrowed my camera once upon and time and at this show he decided to take my friend’s hat and wear it for a minute or two.)

Always entertaining.Switchfoot at the Switchfoot Bro-Am

From my place in the crowd, I could tell they really feel the music that they’re playing. They believe in the songs they’re singing. But it’s always been that way.

As beach balls flew through the air, I sang along, watching Tim climb onto Chad’s drums. I began to smile because I knew he was going to jump. Within moments, Tim was flying through the air, bass in hand, only to land safely on his feet.

The music and cheering continued as Jon followed his younger brother’s example. (Yes, Tim and Jon are brothers). He stepped up on Chad’s drums and launched himself into the air. Luckily he also landed on his feet. But he wasn’t finished. He made his way across the stage and stood in front of the crowd. Switchfoot at the Switchfoot Bro-AmTurning his back to us, he began bending backwards, back arching, still belting out the notes into his microphone. Hands rose to support him, lifting him off his feet and carrying him through the crowd. He was surfing through the crowd on a wave of hands, slowly riding further and further out before being brought back to the stage.

When the show ended the notes still filled my head.

My heart was still singing.

I didn’t even care that I was suffering from mild sunburn (despite the constant use of sunscreen).

It was all worth it. And I can’t wait to do it all over again.

If you would like to see more photos from the Switchfoot Bro-Am, you can do so by going here.

Leave a Reply

