California Adventure: Day 5 – It’s Not Goodbye Forever

It was my last day in California and to say I didn’t want to go home would be an understatement.

I was dead set against it.

But time goes on. So eventually the inevitable would happen – I would be on a plane the following morning heading east.

My only regret is that I spent most of my last day thinking, “I wish I didn’t have to go home tomorrow.” and “I wish I could stay.” instead of enjoying my rapidly decreasing time.

If I had to pick my favorite part of that day, I would say it was the evening. Things become quieter, more serene. Everything seems to slow down.

That evening I walked down to the beach one last time. I dug my feet into the cool sand while listening to the steady breathing of the ocean. The waves barreled toward the shore as the light from the setting sun appeared to make the surface glisten. And I thought, not for the first time, that I could very easily live here.

Sunset on Moonlight Beach III turned my attention to the sky. It was on fire. Brilliant colors of gold and orange stretched out over the ocean. It was different from an East Coast sunset where the sky turns to cooler hues of orange and red, but is also blue and pink and purple. Both are magnificent in their own way.

As the sun sank lower in the sky, the ocean called to me. I longed to touch it one last time. It was cooler then I thought it would be, but still not as cold as East Coast water, so I walked in up to my knees. The waves came toward me. They were just as big as they had been the last few days, but I didn’t give it a second thought. They broke against my body, splashing up and leaving their mark on my clothes. Once again, I thought, “I could easily live here.”

I’ve heard people say that they’ve left their heart in San Francisco, but I’m pretty sure I left mine in Encinitas. I’ve always loved the ocean, so it was no surprise that I spent most of my free time in the water, or standing on the edge where land meets sea. But what I didn’t expect was to fall in love with the city itself.

I didn’t expect to meet so many kind and amazing people, some of whom I now call friends.

I didn’t expect to step outside of my comfort zone on more then one occasion.

No. I didn’t expect to fall in love with it all – the people, the music, the town. San Diego is amazing. Encinitas is beautiful.

And I will be back.

It’s not goodbye forever.

5 thoughts on “California Adventure: Day 5 – It’s Not Goodbye Forever

Leave a Reply

