It’s Not the Same Without You

“Welcome to another exciting edition of Writer’s Flow!”

Edition? We’re not a TV episode or a series of books, but if we were, I’m certain we’d be a comedy.

I always thought he meant “meeting,” but all of us always laughed.

His enthusiasm was like nothing I’ve ever seen.

He was our fearless leader.

And then he left. Not by choice, but I guess all things have their time and place.

But it was the equivalent to letting the air out of a balloon – everything went flat.

About a year ago I was looking for a place to share my work and grow as a writer. I had been writing since I was in the second grade. It started as a hobby, but then I started becoming serious about it. (Not too serious of course, but serious enough to want to publish my work.) And I wanted to meet new people and make new friends along the way.

That’s when I found Writer’s Flow – a group of welcoming writers.

Each week we post, read and critique each others work. I can see in my own writing how much they’ve helped me (and I hope I’ve helped them in some way too).

I’m proud to call each one of these fine writers my friend. But these relationships have had to grow over time (and they will continue to do so).

On my first day I walked in not knowing a single person. Then this guy comes in talking about his eye and how its all red and puffy.

“Look at it,” he said with more enthusiasm then I anticipated.

I wasn’t sure what to think. Maybe he was crazy? I mean, I’ve heard stories of crazy writers.

Turns out he was the group leader.

Really?

This was our fearless leader? The horror writing ginger? (Which he was known as for at least the first two weeks, since I can be horrible at remembering names. Faces? Yes. Names? Sometimes they come and go until I really know a person.)

It also turns out, in fact, that he was a great leader. Each week he brought an indescribable amount of energy to the group. He always had something positive to say about a person’s story. He always wanted to help people if they needed it and I’m fairly certain that he had one of the biggest hearts of anyone I’ve met this far in life. The fact he was super literal was simply a perk. I won’t go into the details, but he always made us laugh.

And he’s a fantastic writer. I’m not just saying it because he’s my friend. I mean it. If you don’t believe me feel free to check out his first novel, Talisman, for yourself.

This horror writing ginger appeared to be the backbone of our little writing group. We all seem to be decent leaders, but not one has been able to match his level of…I don’t know. He had a special something that we all fed off.

As much as we wanted him to stay (and he wanted to stay too), he was destined to move away.

I suppose nothing can stay the same forever. It’s inevitable that things are going to change as time moves on. That’s the way of life.

Sometimes I’m afraid we’ll lose touch. But then I think about my best friend who lives in The Netherlands and how we’ve stayed in constant contact for the last seven years. So clearly I can stay in touch with a friend who still lives in the same country. And on the same coast too.

It’s true that nothing’s the same without him, but change is good and we’ll make it over this road bump. (If that’s what you want to call it. I’m actually, for once, at a loss for words.) Change is how we grow. Change is how we learn. I mean, think about how boring life would be if things were always the same. Change might be difficult at first, but, in the end, it’s never as bad as we initially believe.

So listen up Mr. Horror Writing Ginger, “If you need anything from us here at Writer’s Flow please don’t hesitate to ask!”

We’re here for you.

Leave a Reply

