Being a Concert Photographer

There’s a certain energy that takes over the atmosphere of a venue during a live show. It’s different in each place and with each performance, but it still exists. The crowd feeds off the energy of the band and vice verses.

When I listen to music, it absorbs me. The notes carry me away as the melody wraps around me. And live shows, well, I love the feeling of the bass as it vibrates through the speakers and snakes along the floor. It’s an interesting and wonderful sensation to have the beat of the drums and bass weave their way through my body until it feels as though the music matches my own heartbeat.

As I stand there, now part of the melody, the performers take my breath away. Most of the bands I’ve had the opportunity to see live have produced an energy like no other. I can tell simply by watching that they can feel the music and believe in the words they are singing. And that makes me believe in the songs that much more too.

On the nights when I’m working a show, the whole atmosphere takes me over. (And I use the word “work” lightly, since I love what I do and it never feels like work.) I’m in front of the barricade bar, wedged between the bar and the stage, an entire group of people behind me while the band is inches from my face. I raise my camera, the lens now acting as my eyes, and capture the moments. I capture the songs, the notes and the emotion in a single frame.

Even when I’m standing stage-side, my adrenaline is still pumping. I’m standing in the mist of security, band members, tour managers (although I can rarely pick them out), maybe one or two other photographers, sound equipment and instruments. It’s a different view from standing in the crowd, a view I would never give up.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way because I love my job.

If you would like to take a look at some of my photos you may do so by visiting my website.

Leave a Reply

