“Let Us Sing Before Our Time Runs Out”

For those who know me best, as well as those of you who have been following this blog, it will come as no surprise that music is a huge part of my life. I’m the one who quotes song lyrics and breaks out into song without warning. It’s always been that way; a habit I can’t break. So it will, possibly, come as no surprise that a majority of the music I listen to touches my life. I hear the melodies in my head and the lyrics whispering in my ears and I think to myself, “This song makes a good point.”

Recently, Jon Foreman released the last installment to his The Wonderlands project – Dawn. The last song on this EP is titled “Before Our Time.” This song commanded my attention on the first listen and I immediately loved it. The basic message is that time flies and we should live while we have the chance.

“Let us sing before our time runs out,” sings Jon in the chorus. I take “sing” as a metaphor for “live.” And I think he’s most certainly right – lets live before our time runs out…“our time is now.”

The truth is that we only have one life. At least one life on earth, depending on what you believe. But, regardless, this world has so much to offer. There’s so many things to see, places to go and explore, people to meet and learn from and an infinite number of possibilities.

I want to experience as much as I can while I have the chance.

Put simply, I want to live.

I don’t want to look back on my life and have regrets. The truth is, I have enough already. And I don’t want anymore.

Within recent years, I’ve found that life has a way of telling you things. Of course, we have to be willing to listen. I guess I wasn’t ready to listen just yet, or I was oblivious to the things life was telling me, because I missed every single sign. But now I get it. I recognize the signs, the hints, the arrows pointing me in the right direction. Or maybe that’s called faith. I have that too.

The point I’m attempting to make is that this song is a reminder that time is fleeting. Time doesn’t stop for anyone. It’s constant. It’s continuously marching forward. And life, life is meant to be experienced, so we should “sing before our time runs out” because “our time is now.”

Leave a Reply

