Domino Effect

We’ve all heard of the Domino Effect – one action causes another which causes another and so on.

Everyday we make choices and those choices effect not only us, but others.

Lately I’ve been thinking about where I am in life, what I have and the people who surround me. More specifically I’ve been thinking about how things have really come together for me over the last several months. And I’ve been thinking of one person in particular.

This pass summer I had a small break between jobs. As the days went by the job searching became increasingly frustrating. So I decided to take the summer to travel while working on my writing and photography. There’s so many places I want to go and so much I want to see that I thought I would simply pack my bags and go. But I also tried to be realistic and gave myself a goal of obtaining a job by the fall.

August came and I began to feel the stress mounting. My travels had brought me to places I had never been before. I photographed things, places and events I’ve only dreamed of. I met people I never would’ve if I simply sat at home and some of these people I’m not proud to call friends. But there was still no job in sight. September was creeping closer and closer and I knew I was going to have to take a job in retail or at a grocery store. There’s nothing wrong with those jobs, but I didn’t want any of them. I knew I would be miserable every single day. Not to mention that I felt with each passing day I was getting further and further from my dreams. But I needed a job.

One day I was eating lunch with a friend and she told me about a local hotel that was looking for someone to help at the front desk. My interest was peeked. I liked people. I liked talking to them and working with them. After all, that’s one of the reasons I went to school for Journalism. Then I thought of my cousin who works in the hospitality industry. The stories she shares are always interesting and I thought it would be a lot better then the alternative choices I had in front of me. So I filled out an application for the hotel position. And was offered the job.

I don’t remember how long I was there before I saw him, before he captured my attention. I can, however, say that I remember the exact day I first saw him. But I thought he was much old then me, or married, or at least had a girlfriend.

Turns out I was wrong on all accounts.

And now I think back on how everything came together, how one simple decision effected where I am today.

If I never had lunch with my friend, I wouldn’t have found out about that job.

If I never found out about that job, I never wouldn’t have filled out the application.

If I never filled out the application, then, I never would’ve been called in for an interview and offered the job.

And if I never took this job then I never would’ve met him.

It was one of the best decision of my life.

And he’s one of the best things to ever happen in my life.

It might sound strange, but I feel as though I was meant to take this job because I was meant to meet him and he was meant to meet me.

I’m a big believer in the idea that everything happens for a reason. Even if the reason isn’t clear at the moment, there’s always a reason and it will eventually present itself.

And, now, it’s all clear to me.

Leave a Reply

