Do-Over

We all have things in our lives that we wish we never would’ve done, or maybe even done differently. There are also those things that we wish we would’ve done. Period. After all, the saying goes, “hindsight is 20/20.”

Sometimes theses things turn into mistakes, or even regrets. Unfortunately, there’s no “pause” and “rewind” buttons in life and the more we think about these things we would’ve done differently, well, it can turn into a form of self-torture.

But what if we could go back? What if we had the chance to change one thing in our lives? Maybe it’s our biggest mistake. Maybe it’s our biggest regret. Maybe it’s spending more time with a loved one or not taking part in a particular event or doing a specific act. Maybe it’s choosing a different career path. Maybe it’s as simply as showing more love to your younger self. So here’s the question I pose:

If you had one do-over in life, would you use it?

When I ask myself this question it’s incredibly easy to answer with a “yes,” but if I actually take the time to think about it, then, my answer is “absolutely not…no.”

There are hundreds of different reasons why I would use my do-over, yet, at the same time, I wouldn’t do anything differently. If I changed even the smallest thing in my life then I wouldn’t be where I am today. The tiniest change could effect everything and I might not be the person I am right now. Yes, I’ve made mistakes, but they’ve been my mistakes. Yes, I used to have regrets, but those things don’t define me. I’ve learned from my mistakes and I am who I am because of them.

Life has been kind enough to give me second chances with certain things (and I’m grateful), but I’m not foolish enough to think that life would give me a third or fourth chance. So I grabbed on to this rare opportunity and never looked back.

I’m happy where I am right now in life – my family, my friends, my jobs, my man. Sure some days are better then others, but, overall, I’m incredible happy.

So, no, I wouldn’t change a thing. I would never use my do-over. Would you use yours?

Leave a Reply

