You Are Not Broken

Cheating on someone is something I could never do. It’s something I would never do. The idea of cheating on someone is something I would never be able to live with or accept. What’s worse is that people who do cheat not only destroy a person’s sense of trust, but also there idea of love.

I’ve never been cheated on by any man. I’ve been treated poorly in other ways which have been equally as damaging to my ideas of trust and loyalty and love and what a relationship really means. At a certain point I started believing that being alone would simply be easier. No one, meaning me, would get hurt. So I stopped looking and I stopped caring. I retreated further into my books, my music, my photography, my writing…myself.

Even then, I must say, I still cared a little. I don’t believe anyone really wants to be alone. Everybody wants somebody and, in the end, everybody needs somebody. I also don’t believe we can make it through this world alone.

But I started to think I was broken. I had gone so long without really caring, without having any type of romantic feeling toward any man…I started to wonder who could ever truly like me.

There are those in my life who have been cheated on in every relationship they’ve ever been in and I just can’t wrap my mind around it. I know the story. I know the circumstances. I know there are always two sides to a story, but I believe him and, regardless, you don’t just up and cheat on someone who you truly care about. Who would do such a thing? What kind of woman would go off and do such a thing? (This might sound harsh, but, there must have been a block of ice where her heart was meant to be.) If things aren’t working out you’re suppose to talk about it and try to fix it, not go cheat on the guy.

I know people look at him and think how quiet and shy he is, how awkward he appears, how broken and unfixable he must be, but that’s because they don’t know him. People make assumption based on what they see. We are visual creatures by nature, but to know someone is to learn what makes them tick. To know someone intimately is to dive into their soul.

And he is not broken.

No one is actually broken.

There is always a way back, a way out of the darkness. It might be a long, hard road, but there is always a way back.

People who have been done wrong are harder to draw out. They are more difficult to get to know because they have a harder time opening up. They’re more cautious. They build walls around every part of their being to protect themselves from history repeating.

I know this tactic well. I’ve spent most of my life constructing these walls.

But, sometimes, if luck is on our side, we’ll meet that one person who changes everything. (Or maybe it doesn’t have anything to do with luck. Maybe it has to do with timing or being in the right place at the right time or fate.)

So to those who are hurting, I only have one thing left to say – don’t let others ruin you, for you are not broken.

Leave a Reply

