The Best Things Are Unexpected

I never expected to meet anyone. When I took the job several months ago it was just that – a job. It was a job that sounded interesting, a job that I knew I would be good at and a it was a paycheck. (Unfortunately, money does make the world go round…to a certain degree.) So imagine my surprise when I met him. Imagine my happiness when it turned into something more wonderful then I could’ve ever dreamed. (And believe me, I dream…a lot.) To this day he still makes me insanely happy.

I still remember the first day I saw him. He was in his street clothes, standing in the middle of the hotel lobby, talking to people. Summer was turning into fall and the late afternoon sun was shinning through the window, casting its golden rays on his face. The light hit his eyes just right and they captured my attention. Then I saw him smile that wonderful smile and heard him laugh that deep, warm laugh. I tried not to stare. Staring is rude. Plus, I’m the shy, quiet type and didn’t want to draw attention to myself.

What I didn’t know was that it was too late. He had already noticed me.

We’re fortunate enough to work in the same place. This means we’re able to see each other every day and that helped us get to know each other in the beginning. Now, and even then, it’s nice having the person you care for so much on the same property, knowing that they are only a short walk across the parking lot.

We have fun together. We’re there for each other. We can be serious (which is difficult sometimes) and silly. When we’re with each other we know we can always be ourselves and that counts for a lot. Sometimes our work schedules prevent us from seeing each other outside of work for weeks and sometimes it even makes it difficult to talk, but we always figure it out.

I couldn’t have asked for anyone better and I’m so thankful that he’s part of my life. He’s one of the most caring, kind, affectionate people I’ve ever met (and I have a million examples to prove it). Sometimes, though, he’s incredibly frustrating. Sometimes his communication skills aren’t the best. Sometimes he’s ridiculously stubborn. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. Honestly, he’s perfect. If he ever reads this I know he’ll probably deny it and ask me what I was thinking, as I’m going to say it again here – he’s perfect. He’s not without his flaws, none of us are, but he’s my form of perfect and I like him for everything he is – flaws and all.

There’s more then one point to this story. I’m sure, maybe, some of you have already figured it out. It would seem that things really do happen when we least expect them, when we’re not looking and in our own little world. We need to be open to the unexpected and embrace it, instead of thinking that it doesn’t fit in with our plan. There’s a reason for everything. And sometimes, those unexpected things are the best things.

2 thoughts on “The Best Things Are Unexpected

  1. Petite & Pretty says:

    I love your writing. It’s so beautiful! It’s true, things happens to us when we least expect it. It’s amazing how life works. I’m glad you found him. And from what you are describing, he sounds perfect! Everything happens for a reason 🙂

    Like

    • Nicole says:

      Thank you so much! Yes, the older I get the more and more I believe that everything happens for a reason…even if we don’t at first understand why. As always, thanks for taking the time to stop by and read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

