What Matters Most

“Time on this earth is so precious and short. Most of us don’t stop to comprehend what that really means. Most of the time, we end up taking people and situations in our lives for granted. But we need to be focusing on how we can make our lives count for what matters most.” – Tim Foreman

Time.

I wish I had more of it.

I apologize if that sounds greedy or selfish, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who wishes they had more of it.

But time is fleeting.

Time is precious.

Time can be cruel.

It ticks away the seconds of our lives as we grow older. It turns every present moment to the past in an instant, leaving nothing but memories in its place. (Not that I want to cheapen memories. I love them – the thoughts, the feelings, the visions of days gone by. They’re special moments that I’ve stored away in my head, pulling them out like old, treasured photo albums to flip through.)

There never seems to be enough time. Yet, it’s estimated that the average person will live 78.7 years. That’s about 28,000 days, 701,280 hours, 42,076,800 minutes and 2,524,608,000 seconds. Now that sounds like a lot of time, but I still don’t want to take any chances. I don’t want to waste one second of my life.

There was a time where I didn’t know what I wanted, not really. Maybe I was foolish. But aren’t we all careless rebels with our time when we’re younger? Don’t we think how free and indestructible we are? I sort of figured my path was laid out – high school, college, job, family, ect. – but now I see it’s not all black and white. We all have choices and those choices affect our lives. Some choices are black and white, but we have options. There’s an infinite number of possibilities just waiting to be grasped.

I want to use my time to travel and experience things, to love and be loved, to learn and grow, to build bonds and relationships, to make new friends – to live.

Most of the time, I don’t know how things will turn out. Unfortunately, I don’t have a crystal ball to help me. All I can do is have faith and fight for the things I want and believe in. All I can do is cherish the things that are important to me.

Time doesn’t guarantee us the things we have and it certainly doesn’t guarantee us tomorrow.

So time may be a constant forward motion – the force driving us through life until the very end. It may be unstoppable and out of our control, but the one thing we do have control over is what we do with the time we’ve been given.

But sometimes, I feel time getting away from me. What I mean is, I feel like there are so many variables in life that time simply slips away and before I know it some of the most important things I want to do in life are no longer an option. So I’ve realized over the years that if it’s important, then, I’ll find time for it. I’ll make time. Maybe it comes down to prioritizing – figuring out what we have in life and what is important.

Time does that, makes us evaluate what’s most important to us.

And I know what’s important in my life.

Leave a Reply

