Second Chances

We all make mistakes.

We all do and say things we wish we could take back.

We all leave things undone and unsaid that we wish we would’ve done or said.

That’s called being human.

Things once said can’t be unsaid.

Things once done can’t be undone.

We’re meant to learn from our mistakes and if we don’t, then, I believe we’re just fools letting life live us.

Sometimes it takes the extreme pain of losing something, or someone, to realize how special it truly is and how much we want it, or them, in our lives. I don’t believe there’s any rhyme or reason for why things happen and why they happen when they do, but I do believe that everything happens for a reason.

Depending on the situation, I also believe everyone deserves a second chance. Everyone deserves to do the things they never did and say the things they never said. Everyone deserves a chance to live a life of no regrets. Everyone deserves a chance to risk it all.

That’s why I’ve decided to give him a second chance.

I’m well aware of the risk I’m taking.

But I also can’t help how I feel. I can’t ignore my heart. I can’t ignore the situation that practically begs for a second chance.

So, again, for the same man, I’ll risk it all.

I know if it ends in the same way it did last time that it’ll hurt twice as much. I know that I’ll cry twice as hard. I know I’ll feel twice as broken.

But, to me, the risk is worth it.

And he’s taking a risk too.

Don’t we all risk something for the one we care for? Haven’t we all risked something for some reason in our lives?

I only hope he realizes that second chances rarely occur and third chances almost never exist.

Leave a Reply

