Lovebugs

As I sat with my grandpa he continued to tell me story after story. He’s always been good at that – storytelling. Often times I find myself listening to him for hours, but I always enjoy every minute of it.

Now he’s telling me a story of the lovebugs. At first I think it’s something he made up, like an analogical story, but it’s not. It’s real. I’m not even sure how it became the topic of conversation, but it’s typical to jump from one thing to the next with no correlation. So he continued telling me about lovebugs.

“When they connect, they connect until they die,” he said.

So they stay with one mate their entire life.

“That reminds me of some humans,” I said.

He smiled at me as I thought about my grandparents, my parents, my brother and even some of my friends. They’ve all found their lovebug.

I’m still searching for mine.

I think we all deserve that connection, that love. We all deserve to find that one person who wants to spend the rest of their life with us. We all deserve to find our lovebug.

2 thoughts on “Lovebugs

  1. Petite & Pretty says:

    Hey Nicole, as always beautiful writing! It’s nice to have a conversation with your grandpa! Both my grandpas are not here anymore, but I always love hearing stories from my grandmothers! I didn’t know lovebug connects for a lifetime! That is a very interesting fact, thanks so much for sharing and hope to read more about her adventures in your next post!

    Like

    • Nicole says:

      Thanks! I only have one set of grandparents left and love sitting and hearing stories from both of them. I’ve learned so much from them on many topics. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

