Not All That Bad

I wish I could say that 2016 ended on a better note. The last few months have been rough and the last few weeks have been even rougher. Despite the whirlwind of stress, depression, hurt and a mix of many other emotions, when I think about it, this year wasn’t all that bad.

This year brought me on priceless adventures. I’ve done things I never thought I’d have a chance to do and have gone places I never thought I’d have a chance to go. I’ve even had the opportunity to meet a number of new people. Overall, I’ve done a lot, seen a lot and learned a lot.

The last couple weeks have made me think and within that realm of thinking, I’ve made some pretty serious decisions. They haven’t been easy. I’ve bounced back and forth at least a dozen times. Although scary now, in the long run it’ll be worth it.

Sometimes the toughest choices are also the scariest, for better or worse. At times it can feel like standing on the edge of a cliff, not having that final push to jump off. We never really know what’s at the bottom, just like we never know what a new year will bring, but there’s still that gnawing feeling in the pit of your stomach telling you to make a move. I think it’s at those times we simply have to jump.

I’ve learned that it’s easy to let all the tears, all the hurt and all the darkness overshadow and eventually consume the laughter, joy and light. Sometimes it’s easier to remember the bad times because in remembering the good we realize what we have lost.

The saying goes, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” In every experience in life we learn and grow. With every experience we feel, for better or worse. Even in the worse of times, maybe the pain means you feel more and care an extreme amount. Hurting means you once had something that you loved and we should never regret the things that once made us happy.

This year was a year that gave me more then I could’ve ever dreamed, but it also took a lot away. It was a year of great highs and major lows. It was a year of joy and laughter as much as it was a year of pain and tears. It was a year of love and lost. It was a year of some doors closing and others opening. It was a year of possibly losing myself and then finding myself again. It was a year like no other and because of it, I’m stronger then ever before. I’m the person I am today.

I hope in 2016 you’ve all learned something, whether it’s been about yourself or in general. I hope you’ve all had the opportunity to grow. I hope 2016 has been good to you and that 2017 will be equally as good, even better.

Leave a Reply

