What We Want

“In life you don’t always get what you want.”

That’s one of the saddest statements I’ve heard in a long time. Not because of its truth, but because of the situation surrounding it and the fact that I know the person who spoke these words so well.

Yes, in life we don’t always get what we want. That’s simply a fact of life, but it doesn’t mean we stop fighting. It doesn’t mean we give up, roll over and die. If we want something, then, it’s important to us. If it’s important, then, we should keep working for it, keep fighting for it.

I don’t have it all figured out, but, for the most part, I know what I want out of life. Maybe our wants change over time. Maybe they stay the same. For me, they’ve always been about the same – a career I love, a man who will respect and love me as much as I’ll respect and love him and to simply enjoy all the beauties and all the pleasures of life.

No one ever said life was going to be easy or painted in black and white. In fact, life is messy and full of gray areas. Maybe these gray areas are where we have to make decisions. Maybe the messy places are where the colors burst through. Maybe all this is the beauty of life.

We may not always get what we want, but that doesn’t mean we stop striving.

Leave a Reply

